CyberSec First Responder® (CFR) Certification

CertNexus CyberSec First Responder® (CFR) Certification

The CertNexus CFR certification is for candidates involved in monitoring and detecting security incidents in information systems and networks. This certification validates a candidate's understating of using necessary tools, tactics, and procedures to manage cybersecurity risks, identifying various types of common threats, evaluating the organization's security, collecting and analyzing cybersecurity intelligence, and remediating and report incidents. The CFR certification is ideal for cybersecurity practitioners who currently perform job functions related to protecting information systems by ensuring their availability, integrity, authentication, confidentiality, and non-repudiation.

The CertNexus CFR certification exam objectives are as follows:
  • Threats and Attacks (24%)
  • Vulnerability Assessment (13%)
  • Data Collection and Analysis (23%)
  • The Incident Response Process (18%)
  • Incident Response Methods, Tools, and Techniques (22%)

Key skills measured in the CFR-310 exam are:

  • Explaining the purpose and use of attack tools and technique
  • Explaining the purpose and use of the social engineering tactic
  • Explaining the purpose and characteristics of various data source
  • Explaining the purpose and use of post-exploitation tools and tactic
  • Comparing and contrasting various threats and classify threat profile

uCertify provides a study guide for the CFR-310 exam. The CFR training course and lab provide coverage of all the exam objectives and helps you learn the key concepts covered in the exam with its learning resources.

Requirements for CertNexus CyberSec First Responder® (CFR) Certification

There are no official prerequisites for the certification exams. CertNexus recommends the candidate should have:

  • At least two years (recommended) of experience or education in computer network security technology, or a related field.
  • The ability or curiosity to recognize information security vulnerabilities and threats in the context of risk management.
  • Foundational knowledge of the concepts and operational framework of common assurance safeguards in network environments. Safeguards include, but are not limited to, firewalls, intrusion prevention systems, and VPNs.
  • General knowledge of the concepts and operational framework of common assurance safeguards in computing environments. Safeguards include, but are not limited to, basic authentication and authorization, resource permissions, and anti-malware mechanisms.
  • Foundation-level skills with some of the common operating systems for computing environments. Entry-level understanding of some of the common concepts for network environments, such as routing and switching.
  • General or practical knowledge of major TCP/IP networking protocols, including, but not limited to, TCP, IP, UDP, DNS, HTTP, ARP, ICMP, and DHCP. 
scroll to top